ANSI ISEA 105 2016 Cut Levels


The What

Effective March 2016, the American National Standards Institute (ANSI) and International Safety Equipment Association (ISEA) adopted a revised testing standard for rating hand protection against cut risks.

ASTM F1790-14 Standard

  1. 5 Levels of cut protection
  2. TDM-100 or CPPT machine may be used for testing
  3. CPPT-rotating blade, TDM-100 - straight blade

ASTM F2992-15 Standard

  1. 9 Levels of cut protection
  2. TDM-100 is the only machine acceptable for tsting
  3. Blade must be changed after each test
  4. 5 times at each of 3 weight loads ensure accurate results

The updated test method regulations standardized the process, ensuring predictability and consistency across the hand protection industry. The current standard may help to alleviate concerns of under-performing PPE across the industry.

Current ANSI Cut Levels

Current ANSI Cut Levels
A1 Assembly, Warehouse, Material Handling
A2 Automotive, Packaging, Metal Handling
A3 Construction, Automotive Assembly
A4 Glass Handling, HVAC, Machining, Metal Fabrication
A5 Appliance Manufacturing, Glass Handling, HVAC
A6 Metal Stamping and Fabrication, Electrical, Construction
A7 Aerospace, Window Manufacturing, Recycling
A8 Very high cut risks, Aerospace, Recycling
A9 Highest cut risks

The Why

Hand injuries are not only more common, but require a longer average recovery time than all other injury types combined.



Average Injury Rate Graph
Average Days Away Graph

The When

ASTM Cut Standards Graph

In 1997 the first cut resistant standard, ASTM F1790, is introduced for hand protection. It used a CPPT machine. The standard is revised in 2005, using a TDM-100 machine approved to use in addition to CPPT machine. The standard is revised again in 2014, due to consistency issues between test results. In 2016, the newest standard, ASTM F2992-15, is adopted by ANSI/ISEA that only uses the TDM-100 machine

The How

The TDM-100 Cut Test

  1. Material from the product to be tested is fitted to the base of the TDM-100 testing machine (blue in illustration).
  2. A straight edged blade is lowered onto the material and moved 20 mm across the surface.
  3. This test is done five times at three different weight loads with a new blade & material for each test.
  4. The weight required to cut through the material in one 20 mm test determines the cut level at which the product is rated. The average of a minimum of 3 samples is used to report the classification level.
TDM-100 Test Graphic